## HISTORICAL MARKER APPROVED BY TEXAS HISTORICAL COMMISSION

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) has notified Ned Muse, Chairman, Camp County Historical Commission and County Judge AJ Mason that the Commission has reviewed the Camp County Historical Commission's application for a Texas Historical Marker recognizing the historic accomplishments of Camp County native Carroll Hall Shelby as a driver, developer, and automotive entrepreneur. The THC is now awaiting the payment of the state fee for the marker and will then prepare the narrative for the marker inscription and have the marker cast.

The Application for the historical marker was approved by the Camp County Historical Commission in April 2022. The application was developed by a local team of volunteers including Ned Muse, Bette Holcomb, Stephen Borkowski and Carolyn Anders. Special recognition is due Carolyn Anders who wrote the application narrative and Stephen Borkowski who compiled the research for the application.

The next step in the process of securing the marker is the raising of funds to pay the marker fee to the Texas Historical Commission allowing them to proceed with the development of the inscription to be placed on the marker. The Camp County Historical Commission's goal is to dedicate the marker during a celebration in January, 2023, to mark the 100th anniversary of Shelby's birth (Shelby passed away in 2012). The marker will be placed on Texas Department of Transportation right-of-way near Shelby's resting place in the Leesburg community.

To meet this goal, the Camp County Historical Commission must submit funds for payment of the marker to the State of Texas in the near future. Individuals and groups wishing to contribute to this effort may do so by sending contributions to the Camp County Historical Commission Marker Fund, c/o AJ Mason, County Judge, 126 Church Street, Room 303, Pittsburg, Texas 75686.

For more information, press only: Ned Muse, Chairman, Camp County Historical Commission 903 220-9300 Ned903@hotmail.com